Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hi precious readers! Maybe you think: ‘Who is this? Where is Claudia?’ Or maybe you’ve already been reading about me in the article Claudia wrote last week. Well, it’s so nice meeting you! I am Safiera, your new sunday’s editor! And this will be my first blogpost of many yet to come. Today I launch my weekly column on Dip It Black. I’m designing and fabricating a line of leather handbags and every sunday i will give you an update about what goes on behind the scenes. I hope you all are as excited about it as I am. I can’t describe how honored I feel that I get the chance to write about my experiences on this website.

Why I think Dip It Black is so great? It only exist a little over a month and it already has over 7.000 viewers.
Why I think it’s so popular? I’m sure Claudia has absolutely no idea, she just does what she loves ever since she was able to hold a pen… writing. But if you ask me, she’s not only a writer, she’s an early adopter of trends. I’ve been following the website of the dutch Vogue ever since it has launched and I’ve seen Claudia posting one trendsetting topic after another on her blog, some at them least a week before these topics landed on the Vogue site. And I know Claudia don’t want to be glorified, but still I wanna reinforce once again that I feel very honored!

Waarom ik denk dat Dip It Black zo fantastisch is? Het bestaat pas iets meer dan een maand en het heeft nu al meer dan 7.000 bezoekers gehad
Waarom de site zo populair is? Ik weet zeker dat Claudia er geen idee van heeft, want ze doet alleen maar wat ze al deed vanaf het moment dat ze een pen kon vasthouden… schrijven. Maar als je het mij vraagt, is ze niet alleen een schrijfster, maar ook een iemand die snel trends oppikt. Ik volg de website van de Nederlandse Vogue al sinds deze is gelanceerd en ik heb Claudia het ene na het andere trend-topic zien plaatsen, en sommige daarvan plaatste ze minstens een week voordat er op de website van de Vogue een artikel over verscheen. En ik weet dat Claudia niet de hemel in geprezen wil worden, maar ik kan toch niet vaak genoeg zeggen hoe vereerd ik me voel!

Designing and fabricating bags; how it went

I’m at a point in my life where I see a lot of my friends finishing their educations, getting hired on their first real jobs and moving into their first apartments. Just like these friends of mine, I’ve been finishing my education for about a year ago. I got my bachelor degree in health. And I am working 3 days a week at a dental practice as an oral hygienist.
Usually the next step would be hiring a space of my own, but that’s not really the way my life went. Actually, I did get myself a space of my own, but it’s not a space to live in… I recently got the keys from my own brand-new atelier / office, to work on fulfilling my dream: designing, fabricating and launching my own exclusive leather bag line!

Ik ben op een punt in mijn leven aanbeland, waar ik veel van mijn vrienden zie afstuderen, hun eerste echte baan zie krijgen en ze in hun eerste appartementen zie trekken. Net zoals mijn vrienden, heb ik zo’n jaar geleden mijn studie afgerond. Ik heb mijn bachelor in gezondheid gehaald. En ik werk nu 3 dagen in de week in een tandartsenpraktijk als mondhygiëniste.
Normaal zou de volgende stap het huren van een eigen woonruimte zijn, maar dat is niet echt de manier waarop mijn leven zich ontwikkelde. Ik heb wel degelijk een eigen plek, maar het is geen plek om in te wonen.. Ik heb pasgeleden de sleutels ontvangen van mijn eigen gloednieuwe atelier/kantoor, om daar te werken aan het vervullen van mijn dromen: het ontwerpen, creëren en lanceren van mijn eigen exclusieve leren tassenlijn!

During my study, I’ve been attending a part-time study in designing and fabricating leather bags and accessories, because I simply felt such a strong need to create!
And here I am… totally in love with this old (in Holland almost extinct) craftsmanship. And I am so ready to fulfill my dreams!

Naast mijn studie als mondhygiëniste heb ik een deeltijd-studie in het ontwerpen en produceren van leren tassen en accessoires gevolgd, simpelweg omdat ik zo’n sterke drang voelde om te creëren!
En hier zit ik dan…totaal verliefd op dit oude (in Holland bijna uitgestorven) ambacht.
En ik ben er zo klaar voor om mijn dromen te vervullen!

So if you also have a dream, like I do…
Dus als je ook een droom hebt, zoals ik..

‘Stop wishing, start doing’

Sneak preview!

A few weeks ago the moment arrised that I got my keys! There was a lot that has to be done and there still is. So I can’t show you a completely finished ‘office’/’atelier’, but I can give you a little sneak preview!


Left: The entrance of the building!
Right:The board where every company in the building has to
register if they are present or not. Did you find mine?
I’m totally, 100% present!

And a few days ago my floor finally arrived! It’s a leather design floor, made out of leather tiles, and it’s gonna be placed into my office. And, yes it really is a floor!! Have you everrrr seen something like this before? I.. am.. in love! <3

En een paar dagen geleden arriveerde dan eindelijk mijn vloer! Het is een leren design vloer, gemaakt van leren tegels, en het komt in mijn kantoor te liggen. En ja, het is echt een vloer!! Heb je ooit zoiets als dit gezien? Ik ben…verliefd! <3

And in just a few days, we are gonna place the floor!
So stay tuned!

En over een paar dagen, gaan we de vloer plaatsen!
Dus blijf mijn column vooral lezen!


Left:A tile of my gorgeous taupe leather floor
Right:
 The possibilities with leather are endless! Here’s an example of leather tiles on a wall.

And when the floor is done, my biggest love can be placed into my office/atelier, my brand-new sewing machine!

En als de vloer is gelegd, kan mijn grootste liefde in mijn office/atelier worden geplaatst, mijn gloednieuwe naaimachine.


My precious machine when it was still at the supplier

Self-made


Left: leather diary
Right: Feathers; the beginning of a clutch


One of my self-made leather bags

The bag and the diary at the pictures above are not for sale, these are some assignments from school. Curious about my own designs?
I’m working on my collection of perfection at this moment!
I can’t wait to create luxury bags out of high quality leather.

De tas en de agenda hierboven zijn niet te koop, het zijn een aantal opdrachten die ik tijdens mijn opleiding heb gemaakt. Ben je benieuwd naar mijn eigen ontwerpen?
Ik werk op dit moment aan mijn collectie van perfectie!
Ik kan niet wachten om luxe tassen te creëren uit kwalitatief hoogwaardig leder.


Left: Earthy colored leather
Right: Leather in different colors


And some more beautiful colors

So stay tuned!! There’s so much more to come!!

Dus blijf lezen! Want er komt nog zóoooveel meer!!

Love,

Safiera Pattipeilohy