Tags

, , , , , , ,

I haven’t posted anything about my personal life for a while now. And I started thinking why I didn’t. Actually everything went very well for me, lately. Ofcourse my life got it’s human ups and downs, but this blog was going great, I got all these lovely comments from you, which made me much for self-confident and I met some great people! My yoga school was going great and I actually started my own tiny yoga class, with some beautiful people attending it. And I felt like I finally re-found my dream. But today I’m writing to you again about my personal life. And it seems like  I’m the personal ‘stuff’ writer, when I’m having my downs.

Sometimes I wonder how personal I can go and how this will affect my life. But I can laugh about this following story now, so I won’t hide it for you.

Soms vraag ik me af hoe persoonlijk ik met mijn verhalen kan gaan en hoe dit mijn leven zal beïnvloeden. Maar ik kan eigenlijk wel lachen om het volgende verhaal, dus ik zal het niet voor je verborgen houden.

More than a month ago, I started having pain in my hip. A few months ago I had an infection at the same hip. It hurted so bad, that I actually couldn’t walk for a week, but this time it was different. So I attented my yoga classes, practised every morning and well..a few weeks ago I simply couldn’t do these things anymore. I continued doing some particular yoga poses to relax my hips and open them a little more, without having pressure on them. And that actually went very well.
But this previous weekend, another series of yoga classes started at the Yoga Academy and the morning  the lessons would start, I felt extremely weak. Normally my temperature is very low, like 35.4 degrees and that morning it was 38.4. Which is very high for me! So I had no other choice and called the teacher and blow it off. I felt extremely bad about cancelling, because I love attending these classes so much and my fellow students are such beautiful people! So, I told the teacher that I would stay at bed the entire day and would try to make it to the classes the next day. But the next day I was so weak, I almost couldn’t do anything and my temperature was 38.7 now.

Meer dan een maand geleden kreeg ik pijn in mijn heup. Een paar maanden geleden had ik al eerder een slijmbeursontsteking in dezelfde heup gehad en daar was ik dan ook weer bang voor. Maar toch voelde deze pijn anders. Daarom ging ik braaf verder met mijn yogalessen op de Yoga Academy en mijn dagelijke yogaoefeningen, totdat het simpelweg niet meer ging. Ik bleef wel wat specifieke yogaoefeningen doen, om mijn heupen wat te laten rusten en ze een beetje te openen, zonder ze zwaar te belasten. En dat ging eigenlijk best goed!
Maar dit afgelopen weekend was de start van een nieuwe serie yogalessen aan de Ashtanga Yoga Academy en de ochtend dat de lessen zouden beginnen, lag ik zwaar verzwakt in bed. Normaal gesproken heb ik een heel lage temperatuur en 35.4 is dan ook zeer gewoon voor mij. Maar nu had ik een temperatuur van 38.4 graden; extreem hoog voor mij! Dus ik had geen andere keus, belde mijn yogalerares en vertelde haar dat ik helaas niet naar de lessen kon komen. Ik voelde me hier direct enorm rot over, want ik vind de lessen zo leuk en mijn mede-studenten zijn zulke mooie mensen! Dus zei ik tegen mijn lerares dat ik de hele dag in bed zou blijven liggen en zou proberen de dag erna gewoon te komen. Maar de volgende dag was ik zo zwak, dat ik bijna niets kon doen en mijn temperatuur was gestegen naar 38.7.

And if you think it can’t get any worse, yesterday I discovered a huge lump on the right side of my neck. After a month of postponing, I decided it was time for an appointment with my doctor. And well..that was very interesting..and I probably will never dare to show my face there again!

En juist als je denkt dat het niet meer erger kan, ontdekte ik een enorme bult aan de rechterkant van mijn nek. Na een maand van uitstellen, besloot ik dat het tijd was om een afspraak met de dokter te maken. En tsja, dat was erg interessant, zullen we maar zeggen..en ik durf me er waarschijnlijk ook nooit meer te vertonen!

I recently switched doctors and when I was suffering from an infection in my hip, my former doctor never told me to undress. So, I didn’t even thought about it, till I sat in front of my doctor and he asked me gently to put my pants off. Important to know is, that this doctor is maybe four of five years older than me and is looking quite good.. So: ‘shit!’ I wore the most ugly Hello Kitty underwear you can imagine. And I never ever wear Hello Kitty underwear!! I actually bought it as a joke recently and the text on the front is awfull. Something with ‘kitty’. So you probably can imagine I wasn’t that excited to undress myself and it took me a long time to feel a little more comfortable. Thank God, I wore an oversized jumper, which I stretched to its max! But ofcourse, I had to stand up, then lay down on my side and well…I never saw a doctor looking so frightened at me, like he did.. The rest of the appointment, where he, besides two hip infections, discovered a huge angina (sore throats) too, he didn’t look me in the eyes again, well that’s what I think, because, I stared uncomfortably at my boots (glad I wore my new studded ones). So that was a great start of my day!

Pasgeleden ben ik van dokter gewisseld en toen ik slijmbeursontstekingen in mijn heup had, heeft mijn vorige dokter me nooit gevraagd om me uit te kleden. Dus ik dacht hier eigenlijk niet eens aan. Tot ik tegenover mijn nieuwe dokter zat en hij me vriendelijk vroeg me uit te kleden, zodat hij mijn heup beter kon onderzoeken. Nu moet je begrijpen dat mijn nieuwe dokter maar zo’n 4 of 5 jaar ouder is dan ik en er jammergenoeg ook nog flink aantrekkelijk uitziet. ‘Shit,’ dacht ik dus. Ik droeg het meest lelijke Hello Kitty ondergoed wat je je kunt voorstellen! En ik draag nooit Hello Kitty ondergoed! Ik had het laatst eigenlijk als grap gekocht en aan de voorkant staat de meest afschuwelijke tekst met het woord ‘kitty’ erin.. Ja, je kunt je waarschijnlijk al voorstellen dat ik niet stond te trappelen om me uit te kleden en het duurde dan ook een tijdje voordat ik me een beetje meer op mijn gemak voelde. Gelukkig had ik een oversized trui aan, die ik lekker ver naar beneden had getrokken! Maar natuurlijk mocht ik opstaan, daarna op mijn zij gaan liggen en ik heb in mijn hele leven nog nooit een dokter gezien die me zo geschrokken aankeek… De rest van de afspraak heeft hij me niet meer aangekeken, althans dat denk ik, want zelf staarde ik de rest van de afspraak naar mijn schoenen (gelukkig waren het mijn nieuwe laarsjes). Dus dat was weer een geweldige start van mijn dag!

And I will spare you all the other misery. But I wanna tell you that I am going to take it more easy the coming days. So if I don’t react as fast as usual, that’s probably because I am laying in my delightfull bed! Because I wanna be completely healthy, when the next yoga classes will start and I can’t waite to do this pose again!

Ik zal je de rest van mijn ellende besparen. Maar ik wil je wel even zeggen dat ik het de komende dagen wat rustiger aan ga doen. Dus als ik niet zo snel reageer als anders, dan komt dat omdat ik mijn heerlijke bedje heb opgezocht! Ik wil namelijk weer beter zijn voor mijn andere yogalessen beginnen en ik kan niet wachten om deze pose dan weer te kunnen doen!

Did you ever felt embarrassed at the doctor?
Schaamde jij je ooit bij de dokter?

Love,
Claudia