Tags

, , , , , , ,

This noon I was watching a TV-show, ment to be watched by old people (for the Dutchies among us it was ‘Studio Max’). I considered myself as a geek at that moment, but it actually turned out to be a great choice watching that show, because I discovered a great photographer. Besides all the chit-chats about rollators and three weeled riding chairs, there was also space to talk about daily news. And there he appeared! The hero of the show and the hero of this article: Jasper Doest; a Dutch nature photographer who just hit the cover of the  ‘Veolia Environnement Wildlife Photographer of the Year portfolio book’; a book with world’s best photo’s of wildlife in it. And well, I got curious. So I went searching. And I hopelessly fell in love with this man’s work. Meet a true legend!


Picture Jasper hit the cover of the book with!

You probably already has noticed that I love everything that is different and special. Fashion, illustrations, sculptures and photography. Doesn’t matter to me what it is, if it intrigues me, I will treasure it near my heart. This morning it was the color ‘nude’, this noon and evening it is the work of photographer Jasper Doest!

Je hebt waarschijnlijk wel al opgemerkt dat ik houd van alles wat anders en bijzonder is. Mode, illustraties, beelden en fotografie. Het maakt me niet uit wat het is, als het me intrigeert, zal ik het altijd in mijn hart blijven koesteren. Deze morgen was dat de kleur ‘nude’, deze middag en avond is dat het werk van fotograaf Jasper Doest!

I can totally understand why Jasper hit the cover of the book. This is the kind of picture I get a warm and excited feeling from. It’s so detailed and so pure! It breaths a serenity that is hard to find at pictures nowadays. It’s real! And that’s how I can describe Doest’s work the best. It’s as pure as pure can be. And you will feel delighted when watching at it.

Prachtige foto, niet?! Ik kan me totaal inleven in het feit dat de makers van het boek, kozen voor deze foto om hun cover mee te versieren. Het is zo’n foto waar ik een warm en opgewonden gevoel van krijg. Het is zo gedetailleerd en zo puur. Het straalt een sereniteit uit die je tegenwoordig op bijna geen foto meer tegenkomt. Het is écht! En dat is hoe ik Jaspers werk het best kan omschrijven. Het is zo puur als puur puur kan zijn. En je zult zijn werk met een licht gevoel bekijken.

Different than I normally do, I don’t wanna use a lot of words to describe Jasper’s work. It will distract you from what this post is really about: his photo’s. Ofcourse Jasper is important. Without him, these beautiful pictures won’t exist. It’s about his emotions. His emotions, which he register with an image on his camera. It’s about his past, his current life and his future. Because that always playes a big role in every single piece of art. And this sure are pieces of art. Jasper describe his photography as a need to touch the viewers. His images are simple; they won’t distract you from what is really is about.
But it’s not trite. Jasper’s strength is to waite for an unexpected moment and register it. That’s why his work always surprises. His photographs are so real and so close, that you almost feel like touching the animals and landscapes. His work connects you to the beautiful nature we are living in, but too often forget about. He shows nature’s beautiness, it’s strength, but also it’s fragility. And that’s what I love the most about his pictures. Look at the monkey with the raindrops on his forhead, his peacefull closed eyes. It just takes my breath away. It reminds me of the fact that every living creature and every single piece of nature is so vulnerable. And how Jasper lets me get that insight, is what I could call a great quality. A photographer needs to move something at the inside of your heart. He has to make a difference. And the quality to reach that, Jasper defenitely has!

Normaal gesproken omschrijf ik het leven van de persoon waar ik over schrijf, maar ik zal niet teveel woorden over Jasper’s leven zeggen. Het zal je alleen maar afleiden van waar deze post écht over gaat, namelijk: zijn foto’s. Natuurlijk is Jasper zelf ook belangrijk. Zonder hem zouden deze prachtige foto’s immers niet bestaan. Het draait allemaal om emoties. Zíjn emoties, welke hij vastlegt in een foto met zijn camera. Het gaat over zijn verleden, zijn huidige leven en zijn toekomst. Want dat zijn de onderwerpen die een grote rol spelen in elk kunstwerk. En kunstwerken zijn deze foto’s zeker. Jasper zelf beschrijft zijn fotografie als een behoefte om zijn kijkers te roeren. Zijn foto’s zijn simpel; ze zullen je niet afleiden van waar het echt om gaat.
Maar het is niet saai! Jasper’s werk is het wachten op een onverwacht moment en het is de kunst om dat moment vast te leggen. Dat is waarom zijn werk je verrast. Zijn foto’s zijn zo echt en zo dichtbij, dat je de dieren en de landschappen erop bijna aan kunt raken. Jasper’s werk verbind je met de prachtige natuur waar we in leven, maar die we te vaak vergeten. Hij laat de natuur’s pracht, kracht, maar ook zijn fragiliteit zien. En dat is wat ik nog het mooiste vind aan deze foto’s. Kijk naar de aap met de regendruppels die dansen op zijn voorhoofd. Zijn vredig gesloten ogen. Het beneemt me simpelweg de adem. Het herinnert me aan het feit dat elk wezen en elk stukje van de natuur zo kwetsbaar is. En om me dat te laten inzien, is wat ik wel kan noemen ‘een grote kwaliteit’. Een fotograaf moet iets diep in de mens zijn hart kunnen raken. Een verschil maken. En de kwaliteit om dat te bereiken, bezit Jasper zeker!

What do you think of Jasper’s work?
Wat vind jij van Jasper’s werk?

Sources
You can find every single picture on this post at Jasper’s personal website. Also the background info of Jasper’s work you can find at this site. And it is defenitly, 100%, worth a visit!

http://www.doest-photography.com/