Tags

, , , , , , ,

Maybe you already know I love to visit museums and exhibitions! Last week i picked up the last machine I ordered and afterwards I went to the textile museum in Tilburg. It wasn’t very far from the supplier and I was very curious about the exhibition of Jan Taminiau in this museum, a fabulous Dutch designer.

Misschien weten jullie al dat ik het erg leuk vind om museums en exposities te bezoeken. Afgelopen week heb ik mijn laatste machine opgehaald die ik besteld had en hierna heb ik het textielmuseum bezocht. Het was niet ver van de leverancier en ik was erg nieuwsgierig naar de expositie van Jan Taminiau in dit museum.


The beautiful front of the museum!
De mooie voorzijde van het museum!


Left: A quick picture in the lobby of the museum.
En snel een foto in de lobby van het museum.
Right: The flyer of the exhibition, it is called ‘the craft of Jan Taminiau’.
The flyer van de expositie, ‘het ambacht van Jan Taminiau’.


A gorgeous piece of the exhibition. It’s very inspiring to get to know more about the way this designer works. He turns different materials into one flawless piece. It’s art! If you want to see more, you can still visit the exhibition until january 27 next year.

Een prachtig stuk uit de expositie. Het is erg inspirerend om meer te weten te komen over zijn manier van werken. Hij voegt verschillende materialen samen tot een perfect stuk. Als je meer wilt zien, je kunt de expositie nog bezoeken tot 27 januari volgend jaar.

Another exposition was about wool. I’ve seen how they turn wool into blankets, such an interesting process!
En een andere expositie ging over wol. Ik heb gezien hoe dekens worden gemaakt van wol, een heel interessant proces!

The museum also has a textile lab. There’s a lot of research and development going on in here. I use special threads for leatherstitching. In the textile lab there was a showcase of many different threads. And I’ve seen how two or more threads were put together by a machine to make one solid thread.

Het museum had ook een textiel lab. Er wordt hierin veel gewerkt aan onderzoek en ontwikkeling. Ik gebruik speciale garen voor het stikken van leer. In dit textiellab was er een tentoonstelling van veel verschillende garen. En ik heb kunnen zien hoe twee of meer draden samengevoegd werden door een machine tot 1 stevige draad.


There were also many samples of textiles stitched in special ways. These two in the pictures were the most inspiring techniques to me. I really had to take pictures of them.

Er waren ook veel voorbeelden van textiel gestikt op speciale manieren. Deze twee op de foto’s waren voor mij het meest inspirerend. Ik moest er gewoon even foto’s van maken.

Behind the museum there were some ateliers which I wanted to visit.
Achter het museum waren wat ateliers die ik graag wilde bezoeken.

Left: An atelier of a female bag designer..
Een atelier van een tassenontwerpster..
Right: The atelier of a furniture upholsterer.. He was working on a chair.. Also a wonderful profession!
Het atelier van een meubelstoffeerder. Hij werkte aan een stoel.. Ook een schitterend beroep!

Back inside the museum there were also demonstrations of damask weaving.
Eenmaal terug in het museum waren ook demonstraties van het weven van damast.

The damask weaving department had this thing hanging on the wall. It means they are purveyor to the royal household. I definitely want that one day hanging on my wall too, wow!
But back to reality.. there’s no honor without working hard for it. So when i got back i went straight back to work.

De damastweverij had dit aan de muur hangen. Het is een bewijs dat zij leveren aan het hof. Dit zou ik ooit ook wel aan mijn muur hebben willen hangen, wauw!
Maar terug naar de realiteit… er is geen eer zonder er hard voor te werken. Dus toen ik terugkwam van het museum ben ik meteen weer aan het werk gegaan.

Sketching with a cup of tea..
Lekker schetsen met een kop thee..


And developing my ideas behind my computer..
En mijn ideeen uitwerken op de computer.

And every week comes to an end.
Stay tuned for more.. next sunday! Thanks for reading!

Love,
Safiera

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE TO READ LAST WEEKS POSTS:

Sunday's editor Safiera: The delivery and a museum of bags! 
Sun nov 4th, 2012

A new sunday, a new post! Hope you all are 
enjoying your weekend! The past weeks you have 
been reading about me and one of my biggest 
dreams to launch my own line of handbags and 
accessories. Last week was a pretty busy week.
I had my first day of my 2nd job at this 
dental practice, which went... Read more...

 

Sunday's editor Safiera: Born too late or just in time?
Sun oct 28, 2012 

It's sunday again, so it's 
already time for my second post !In my first 
post last week, you have been reading about 
me, my fascination for leather and you've seen 
some sneak previews of my atelier. When you 
think of leather and craftsmanship, you might 
be immediatley thinking about France or Italy.. 
This week i’ve got an interesting... Read more....