Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

First of all: I’m so happy to be back! I promised myself a weekend off, because friday I was going out and I needed a little spare time and rest (the dark spots under my eyes began to reach to my toes..not overdone..). But if you are following me for a while now, you probably also know I’m so devoted to my blog, my writing and my constant search for new designers, artists and trends. So well, my weekend came down to me constantly holding myself back from writing posts and searching for new subjects. I litteraly became nervous of it! So: thank God it’s monday! I can write again! 

Lately I wrote a lot of posts about fashion designers which were working in a more arty way. But because the idea of having a blog is absolutely not ‘making it boring’, today I want to write about two beautiful photographers. I always carry along a little notebook with me, in which I write down everything that catch my eye and of which I think it’s interesting enough. The names of this photographer duo were staring at me from the white writing paper, for a long time now. And today, while the dew cautiously flattering itself down to the ground and the grey skies are slowly moving forward, it’s the perfect time to write about this photographers duo. So wrap yourself up, take a nice hot drink and take a look at the work of: Inez & Vinoodh!

De laatste tijd heb ik het in veel posts over mode-ontwerpers met een artistieke werkwijze gehad. Maar omdat het idee van het hebben van een blog nu niet bepaald is dat het saai moet gaan worden, ga ik deze ochtend schrijven over twee prachtige fotografen. Ik draag altijd een klein notitieboekje bij me, waar ik alles in op schrijf wat mijn aandacht trekt en interessant genoeg is. De namen van dit fotografenduo stonden me dan ook al een tijd lang aan te staren vanaf het lijntjespapier van het boekje. En vandaag, terwijl de dauw zich voorzichtig op de grond vleit en de grijze luchten zich langzaam voortbewegen, is het de perfecte tijd om over dit duo te schrijven. Pak jezelf lekker in, neem wat warms te drinken en neem een kijkje in het werk van: Inez & Vinoodh!

Loulou

I often hear the question: ‘what is it about a photographer that makes his or her photographs special?’ I don’t often look at photography that way. When I’m looking at a portraits- or a fashion photographers work, I often look at his/her nude portraits. When nude portraits are made in an honoring, an almost body and nature embracing way, I develop an instand admiration for the photographer. Nude portraits are, in my opinion, hard to make in a pure and honoring way, without the portraits becoming erotic. So when a photographer got those skills, well, I’m in love. And that’s what happened when I discovered Inez & Vinoodh too!

Mensen vragen zichzelf vaak af wat het nu eigenlijk is dat de foto’s van een bepaalde fotograaf zo bijzonder maakt. Ikzelf kijk eigenlijk niet op die manier tegen fotografie aan. Wanneer ik een portret- of modefotograaf ontdek, bekijk ik vaak eerst zijn of haar naaktportretten. Wanneer een naaktportret is gefotografeerd op een erende, een bijna lichaam- en natuur omarmende manier, ontwikkel ik een onmiddelijke bewondering voor de fotograaf. Naaktportretten zijn namelijk, naar mijn mening, moeilijk om puur over te laten komen op de kijker. Vaak wordt een naaktportret toch als erotisch gezien. Dus wanneer een fotograaf deze vaardigheden bezit, achja, dan word ik verliefd. En dat is dan ook precies wat er gebeurde toen ik Inez & Vinoodh ontdekte!

Conventional photographs? No. If I would select Inez and Vinoodhs photographs by acceptability for the biggest public, I would feel terrible, because I would disrespect their work.

Conventionele fotografie? Nee. Als ik nu een aantal foto’s van Inez & Vinoodh zou selecteren op basis van de acceptatie van het grote publiek, zou ik me verschrikkelijk voelen, omdat ik daarmee totaal geen respect voor hun werk zou tonen.

Inez and Vinoodh aren’t conventional. Inez, actually Inez van Lamsweerde, and Vinoodh, Vinoodh Matadin, gathered world fame with their pictures of young teenage girls with adult men mouths and with the photo were Inez is passionately kissing Vinoodh. This duo, both from Amsterdam, the Netherlands, isn’t seeking to be popular. Their pictures don’t have to be beautiful, because the world isn’t always beautiful too. Most of the time, ugliness is more interesting than beautiness. And that’s the reason why Inez & Vinoodh are not holding back their fantasy and that’s why both the fashion and artistic world and the commercial world, love their photographs.

Inez & Vinoodh zijn niet conventioneel. Inez, eigenlijk Inez van Lamsweerde, en Vinoodh, Vindoodh Matadin, werden wereldberoemd met hun foto’s van jonge tienermeisjes met grote mannelijke monden en met de foto waarop Inez, Vinoodh, gepassioneerd kust. Dit duo, beiden afkomstig uit Amsterdam, Nederland, is er niet op uit om populariteit te vergaren met het maken van portretten die iedereen mooi vindt. Hun foto’s hoeven niet mooi te zijn, want dat is de wereld evenmin altijd. Lelijkheid is vaak veel interessanter dan schoonheid en dat is dan ook precies de reden waarom Inez & Vinoodh zich daar in hun werk niet door tegen laten houden. En hun gedachtegang werkt: de modewereld, de kunstwereld en de commerciële wereld zijn gek op Inez & Vinoodhs werk!

Inez & Vinoodh hit several covers and editorials of the Vogue and other magazines, they shoot campaigns for brands, such as Gucci, Givenchy, Dior and Viktor & Rolf and they photographed celebrities like Scarlett Johansson, Tilda Swinton and Natalie Portman. And today this unconventional Dutch duo is still going strong, because they are about to exhibit their work in the Parisian Louvre!

Inez & Vinoodhs foto’s sierden verschillende covers en editorials van de Vogue en andere magazines, ze fotografeerden campagnes voor merken zoals, Gucci, Givenchy, Dior en Viktor & Rolf en ze fotografeerden beroemdheden als Scarlett Johansson, Tilda Swinton en Natalie Portman. En ook vandaag de dag staat dit onconventionele Nederlandse duo niet stil, want ze staan op het punt om hun werk te exposeren in het Parijse Louvre!

Enjoy the rest of the pictures!
Geniet van de rest van de foto’s!

What do you think about Inez and Vinoodhs photography?
Wat vind jij van Inez en Vinoodhs foto’s?

Thanks for reading!
Bedankt voor het lezen!

Sources
Inez & Vinoodh
Williamyan
SHOWstudio