Every week is a busy week to me! Besides my work at 2 dental practices three days a week, i’m spending the time that’s left of every week on designing, brainstorming, travelling and meeting inspiring people!
This week started with a trip to Amsterdam. I was travelling by train after a long time again. Back in the days during my study i used to travel by train almost every day for about 3 hours and i always used this time to come up with sketches or reading interesting magazines. It’s also extremely inspiring to watch people during their journey.. So many people, all different destinations, all carrying their luggage. I was always very interested in what they all carry and how they carry it with them. So you can imagine how nice it felt to travel by train again after such a long time. I immediately started brainstorming again!

Elke week is een drukke week voor mij! Naast mijn werk 3 dagen in de week bij 2 tandartspraktijken, besteed ik mijn overige tijd aan het ontwerpen, brainstormen, reizen en het ontmoeten van inspirerende mensen! Deze week begon met een ritje naar Amsterdam. Ik reisde weer eens met de trein na een lange tijd. Een tijdje geleden reisde ik tijdens mijn studie bijna elke dag 3 uur met de train en ik gebruikte deze tijd altijd om te schetsen en interessante tijdschriften te lezen. Het is ook erg inspirerend om naar reizende mensen te kijken. Zoveel mensen, met allemaal verschillende bestemmingen, dragen allemaal hun bagage met zich mee. Ik was altijd erg geïnteresseerd in wat ze meenamen en hoe ze dat met zich meenamen. Dus je kunt je voorstellen hoe fijn het voelde om weer eens met de trein te reizen na zo’n lange tijd. Ik ben meteen weer aan het werk geslagen, ik hou ervan!

Anyway, i had a meeting in Amsterdam, but there were constructions planned on the way to Amsterdam central station.

Ik had een afspraak in Amsterdam, maar er waren werkzaamheden gepland op de route naar Amsterdam Centraal.

So i had to leave the train at Schiphol airport. And that stop usually doesn’t have a good influence on my wallet.

Dus ik moest uitstappen bij Schiphol. En die stop heeft normaal geen goede invloed op mijn portemonnee.


I immediately went to the Victoria’s Secret store, which i absolutely love and i bought myself a small present. This fragrance smells so good!

Ik ben meteen even naar de Victoria’s Secret winkel gegaan, die ik helemaal leuk vind en ik heb een klein cadeautje voor mezelf gekocht. Dit luchtje ruikt zoo lekker!

I was meeting with Sjifah Metekohy that day, a very sweet friend of mine (she’s like family to me). She’s working at the styling department of a very well-known magazine here in Holland at Sanoma media, named Margriet.

Ik had een afspraak met Sjifah Metekohy die dag, een lieve vriendin (die als familie voor mij is). Ze werkt op de styling-afdeling van een bekend tijdschrift hier in Nederland bij Sanoma media, namelijk de Margriet.


These are some pictures of her work… So inspiring!
Dit zijn wat foto’s van haar werk.. Zo inspirerend!


Together we cruised through Amsterdam on her scooter. It was such a fun day! At this point my whole life is about work.. So it’s not very surprising i went back to work right after i got home from Amsterdam.

Samen hebben we wat door Amsterdam gereden met de scooter. Het was een erg leuke dag! Op dit moment draait mijn hele leven om werk.. Dus het is niet erg verassend dat ik meteen weer aan het werk ben gegaan toen ik thuis kwam van Amsterdam.

That same week i had another appointment, this time with one of my best friends Priscilla Haesakkers. We were friends ever since we met in elementary school. She buys me presents almost everytime we meet, SO sweet!

Dezelfde week had ik een andere afspraak. Deze keer met een van mijn beste vriendinnen, Priscilla Haesakkers. We zijn al vriendinnen sinds we elkaar ontmoetten op de basisschool. Ze neemt bijna elke keer cadeautjes mee als we elkaar zien, ZO lief!

This time she brought me roses with the new dutch Vogue with a sweet little handwritten card, and also a lot wonderful clothes!
Priscilla is also a stylist, she’s doing these great styling assignments. I love to hear her stories and see her work!

Deze keer bracht ze rozen mee met de nieuwe nederlandse Vogue met een schattig klein handgeschreven kaartje en ook veel mooie kledingstukken!
Priscilla is ook stylist en ze krijgt geweldige stylingopdrachten. Ik vind het altijd erg leuk om naar haar verhalen te luisteren en haar werk te zien.


These are some pictures of her work! The two upper pictures are made before a show of this Dutch artist Yes-R, who she has been styling. The two pictures below are from a job at Hans Boodt, a company that designs and produces mannequins.

Dit zijn wat foto’s van haar werk! De twee bovenste foto’s zijn gemaakt voor een show van Yes-R, wie zij heeft gekleed. De twee onderste foto’s zijn van een klus voor Hans Boodt, een bedrijf dat etalagepoppen ontwerpt en produceert.

I love to be surrounded by creative, talented people!
Maybe it doesn’t fit the  ‘fashion’-theme of this blog and normally i don’t do this, but i really want to share the drawings of my 14-year old nephew Anthony Pattipeilohy with the world, he’s soo talented, i hope he will become a major illustrator in the future.

Ik hou ervan om omringd te zijn met creatieve, getalenteerde mensen!
Misschien past dit niet in het modethema van deze blog en normaal doe ik dit niet zo snel, maar ik wil graag de tekeningen van mijn 14-jarige neefje Anthony Pattipeilohy met jullie delen. Hij is zo getalenteerd, ik hoop dat hij ooit een grote illustrator zal worden!

Isn’t this amazing for a 14-year old?
Is dit niet geweldig voor iemand van 14 jaar?


His work really inspires me (he probably doesn’t even realise that). Anyway, love him!
Zijn werk inspireert mij (hij realiseert zich dat vast niet). Hoe dan ook, ik hou van ‘m!


The same week i went to the leather supplier to buy skins for the lining, another candystore!

Nog dezelfde week ben ik leer gaan kopen om te gebruiken voor de voering, nog zo’n snoepwinkel!

And this weekend i bought myself an early christmas present, a brandnew iPad and i  already can’t live without it.

En dit weekend heb ik mezelf een vervroegd kerstcadeau gegeven, een iPad. En ik kan nu al niet meer zonder.

I can make my sketches and write my posts on it. Materialistic? Yes, guilty! But i keep telling myself i work hard for it and if i can afford it myself it won’t harm others. That makes it more acceptable, hihi.

Ik kan erop schetsen en mijn posts schrijven. Materialistisch? Ja! Maar ik blijf mezelf wijsmaken dat ik er hard voor werk en als ik het zelf kan betalen schaadt het anderen niet. Dat maakt het wat meer acceptabel, hihi.

Hope you enjoyed this week’s post! Next week some sneak previews of my work!
Stay tuned!

Love,
Safiera

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE TO READ LAST WEEKS POSTS:

Sunday's editor Safiera: Progress...
Sun nov 18, 2012 

The last couple of weeks I’ve been writing about 
inspiring things and places, and I recommended 
you some museums I absolutely love to visit.
This weeks post is more personal. 
I’ve got some new pictures of my atelier to 
share with you...Read more....

 

Sunday's editor Safiera: Crafts, art, sketches and inspiration
Sun nov 11, 2012 

Maybe you already know I love to visit museums
and exhibitions! Last week i picked up the last
machine I ordered and afterwards I went to the
textile museum in Tilburg. It wasn’t very far
from the supplier and I was very curious about 
the exhibition of Jan Taminiau in this museum, 
a fabulous Dutch designer... Read more....